Collingsguitars.com    Collingsforum.com    Collings Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Bulletin Board  Hop To Forums  FS, WTB or Trade    re Ebay Fraud

Moderators: Ed
Go
New
Find
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Posted
Sorry to post this in the FS/WTB section, but I wanted to alert anyone who might be looking for a guitar. There is a new scam, which is pretty sophisticated. Someone tried this on me recently. Fortunately I checked it out thoroughly.
Say that there is a guitar with a reserve for $3000. Your top bid is $2500 and the high bidder is at $2550. The auction ends and no one wins the guitar. Then you receive a notice that looks just like it came from Ebay saying that the seller is giving you an offer to buy the guitar at your bid price. Just contact xyz directly to arrange payment. It's a fraudulent offer.
 
Posts: 271 | Location: Cambridge,MA,USA | Registered: June 04, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
Sorry, ran out of room. Apparently if the offer were legit, the offer would show up on your "my ebay" page as an official 2nd chance offer with the amount of time that you have to decide.

In this case I have reason to believe that the top bidder is in on the deal too. Maybe even the seller.

Sorry for the off topic, but I just wanted to "forarm" everyone.

b
 
Posts: 271 | Location: Cambridge,MA,USA | Registered: June 04, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
Hey b,

Thanks for the heads-up. I lost an auction that way and got the email you describe. It seemed a little fishy to me and I passed on it, but if it had been a better deal, I may have taken the bait. Nice catch.

Rick
 
Posts: 17 | Registered: November 11, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
Sorry for the overdone fish stuff, it was coincidence, but I went way overboard (doh!)
 
Posts: 17 | Registered: November 11, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

Collingsguitars.com    Collingsforum.com    Collings Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Bulletin Board  Hop To Forums  FS, WTB or Trade    re Ebay Fraud

This is an independent website created by a group of Collings Guitar owners, and not part of Collings Guitars. The statements and opinions expressed in the Collings Guitar Forum are solely those of the individuals posting the same and are not those of Collings Guitars, the forum's administrators, moderators and its supporters, financial or otherwise, or its members, guests or other contributors.

"You can help me keep the Collings Forum active by making a little donation. Your support will serve as a great encouragement to me, and will enable me to keep this forum active." Ed